Canada’s Constitution creates the framework for how the nation operates. The Constitution Act, 1867 creates subjects of responsibility (jurisdiction) and distributes powers between the federal and provincial government (division of powers).

The separation of powers is a foundation of the Constitution. This means that government powers are separated among legislative, executive and judiciary branches. This separation of powers provides important checks and balances on government.

An important document that is part of Canada’s Constitution is the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (the “Charter”). The Charter governs a government’s relationship with its people and guarantees fundamental rights and freedoms.

Last modified: Thursday, 13 April 2023, 4:21 PM